Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Community Member

QoS on router 877 for VoIP : help needed please

Hello all,

I'm getting really crazy with my new Cisco 877. I wand to setup QoS with priority for VoIP and a few more flows, while keeping the full bandwidth available for generic traffic when I'm not on the phone, with priority to FTP and HTTP.

I currently have a Cisco 857 router on an ADSL connection with good download / upload speed, except the phone line and internet radio streams drop when I upload big backup files to a remote backup server. This is what I want to avoid with my new router.

I'm a Cisco newbie, I tried to aggregate all previous posts on several forums to make my conf, which is the one below. What it currently does is the following :

- catch the traffic coming from VLAN1 and tag it appropriately with precedence
- whatever is priority traffic, although I see the reserved bandwidth increase, I have noticed disruptions in phone calls and internet radio streams after a certain time
- whatever is not priority traffic, including for example web downloads like podcasts in itunes, the download speed starts at a few Mbps, then suddenly drops to a few Kbps or even few bps. Downloading one podcast then takes 24 hours, when it's 2 minutes on the 857 currently.

What I don't understand is the relationship between the QoS I place on the outbound traffic, and the limitation I get in return on the inbound traffic...

At no time in my test I created a congestion on the uplink that could explain a slow down on the downlink.

any suggestion, please ?

I've had to apply the service policy on ATM0 because it's not supported on the sub-interface ATM0.1.

I have doubts on the usage of "tx-ring-limit 3" in the pvc section.

Here is my conf :

class-map match-any Priority-Traffic-VLAN
match access-group name Voice-Traffic-VLAN
match access-group name Radio-Traffic-VLAN
match access-group name ICMP-VLAN