Helpful
Replies

Routed Ports

m.metwally
Level 1
Level 1

Dear Experts,

I'm a newbie to what's called Layer-3 Switching and Routed Ports

I Have 2 Layer-3 Switches (Cisco 3560 and 2960), I have my Headquaters LAN Network (192.168.0.0/24) and my Branch Network (192.168.1.0/24)

I want to use the WAN link to connect them to each other using Routed Ports (because actually I have no routers)

How can I configure that using Routed Ports on both switches - let's assume that I will use 192.168.100.1 and 192.168.100.2 for the routing interfaces

Thank in advance for your kind co-op

7 Replies 7

paolo bevilacqua
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

First of all the 2960 is not a L3 switch.

On the 3560:

ip routing

interface x/y

switchport mode access

switchport access vlan 10

interface vlan 10

ip address a.a.a.a m.m.m.m

That's it.

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

m.metwally wrote:

Dear Experts,

I'm a newbie to what's called Layer-3 Switching and Routed Ports

I Have 2 Layer-3 Switches (Cisco 3560 and 2960), I have my Headquaters LAN Network (192.168.0.0/24) and my Branch Network (192.168.1.0/24)

I want to use the WAN link to connect them to each other using Routed Ports (because actually I have no routers)

How can I configure that using Routed Ports on both switches - let's assume that I will use 192.168.100.1 and 192.168.100.2 for the routing interfaces

Thank in advance for your kind co-op

As Paolo says the 2960 is not a L3 switch so on the 2960 use Paolo's config ie.

int vlan 10

ip address 192.168.100.1

int gi0/1

switchport mode access

switchport access vlan 10

However the 3560 is a L3 switch so on that one

int gi0/1

no switchport

ip address 192.168.100.2

And enable "ip routing" on the 3560.

Jon

Either "no switchport" and address on interface, or "switchport" and address on VLAN, achieve the same result.

p.bevilacqua wrote:

Either "no switchport" and address on interface, or "switchport" and address on VLAN, achieve the same result.