Helpful
Replies

router to router configuration

sugaranderson1
Level 1
Level 1

hello!

a newbie here. hope you can help me.

our office has cisco 2600 series router. i want to know on how i can configure it to connect to another router in a different site.

for example, from minnesota to connect in new jersey.

thank you in advance!

regards,

Sugar

9 Replies 9

John Blakley
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

What types of circuits do you have? Point-to-point or Internet only?

HTH, John *** Please rate all useful posts ***

hello,

our connection is internet only. please advise on how would i configure the router to connect to another router in another site.

thanks in advance!

fb_webuser
Level 6
Level 6

We featured your question on our pages. To see responses click here: http://www.facebook.com/CiscoSupportCommunity/posts/118078684996165

---

Posted by WebUser Cisco NetPro from Cisco Support Community App

Sugar

We do not know enough about your environment yet to give you really good advice. We can identify some possibilities but until we understand better how these sites are set up we can not know which ones would work better than others.

Perhaps the most common way to achieve connection between two sites using Internet connectivity would be to set up a site to site VPN. We do not know whether your current routers support creating VPN. And we do  not know about IP addressing at the sites. If at least one site has a fixed/static IP address then VPN is straightforward. But if both sites are using dynamic assigned address from the provider then VPN is a challenge.

Another possibility might be that one or both sites have some of their devices with a static IP address translation. A static NAT helps make some devices inside the network reachable from Internet sources. This could potentially provide site to site connectivity. But we do not know about the address translations at the sites.

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

Hi Rick,

Thanks for your response.