Views
Helpful
Replies

Single HUB with dual ISP DMVPN design

shamax_1983
Level 3
Level 3

Hi All,

Tried to find the clear explanation for this for last couple of days but coudn't. So please help as I'm new to DMVPNs

Currently we have a single DMVPN cloude between 1 hub and 2 spokes.  Hub has only one uplink (ADSL)  and each Spoke has single uplink as well. We are hoping to install a 3G module ( with a 2nd ISP ) only on the hub and use the 3G uplink as the back up, so that the spokes can link up with the HUB via its 3G interface when the primary ADSL goes down.

DMVPN-HUB-SPOKE.jpg

So my question is, what is the best way to approach this ? I've seen lot of articles on DUAL-HUB/DUAL-ISP  but haven't seen much with this setup. Please point me in to the right direction. Also if you can provide me with some examples that'll be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

1 Reply 1

shamax_1983
Level 3
Level 3

Answers to my own question:

1) The best case scenario, Two physical routers at the HUB site, Two DMVPN clouds, one terminating on each hub

2) If you can't put two routers in the HUB site, you have two options:

I)  Introduce a VRF (VRF-ISP2) and configure the second ISP uplink to be in the VRF, configure second DMVPN           HUB tunnel interface          in the GLobal Routing Table (GRT) and configure this tunnels "transport traffic" to           originate from within the VRF ( aka, put the command, tunnel vrf VRF-ISP2 ). Configure SPOKEs to have two           tunnels one terminated on the primary interface (public IP) and the otherone on the ISP2 interface.. ( you should           have a static default gateway route within the VRF pointing its nexthop IP of the ISP2). This alone should get you           going, you will see two routes for all internal subnets via two DMVPN paths...  Tweek the Delays if you want           single route to appear on the routing table and the otherone to be a feasible successor incase of EIGRP..