Views
Helpful
Replies

Split Internet Bandwidth Using 891

flemingaod
Level 1
Level 1

Hi:

I'm pretty new to this, and I've been trying to read up on what I should do. Here's my situation: we have a new 15mps internet connection coming into our building. We also have a new 891 router. We would like to devote 1.5mbs at the highest priority to one LAN which is just used for VOIP phones. We would like to allow one of the other tenants to use up (but no more than) to 5mps for their LAN, and we'd like to be able to use up to 13.5mps for ourselves if it's available, or at least 8.5mps (15-1.5-5=8.5).

From searching in here and reading the various articles on policing and shaping, I'm thinking that we'd want to set up Class-based weighted fair queueing on a per-interface basis, and have one interface connected to our VOIP switch, one connected to the other tenants switch, and one connected to our firewall. Does this sound like the right way to go? And would anyone have an example of a configuration which achieves this?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Bobby

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

hi Robert,

if you subnet as i have suggested there is clearly no need to NAT anything... If you instead want to NAT then just follow a classical config in which

a) you have your outside interface (the one facing the SP)

b) you have your inside interface (the one facing your switch or the LAN anyway)

c) an accessl list defining the pool to NAT

Having said this, you are chaniging design while you should take some decisions about your infrastructure. For example, which usage of public space do i want to do?

Do i want to NAT or do i just route the networks out?

Do i have to contact the SP to ask them to change the subnet mask (/25 is a too big mask for a poin-to-point config)?

Please mark this thread as answred and rate me!!!

Alessio

View solution in original post

15 Replies 15

flemingaod
Level 1
Level 1