Views
Helpful
Replies

Splitting an Internet Link on a guaranteed basis

dhirendra.patel
Level 1
Level 1

Hi folks.

I'm new to cisco and need your input on a topic. My own research has identified lots of different gadgets out on the market that can do what I want, but I hae heard it is easily possible with a decent Cisco switch.

We have an 10MB Internet connection coming in through a leased line and terminated by the ISP using a Cisco router. As it is managed, all they provide is a single CAT5 connection and have given us a good sized range of public IPs.

We want to effectively split this 10Mb link into two (one with 4Mb, the other with 6Mb). The idea being that the individual splits only get what they are programmed for and NOTHING extra. The background is the 4Mb one is going to be used by 40 people for typical web browsing/internet usage and the 6Mb link is going to be used by a new Video Conferencing system.

The 4Mb link will plug into our existing Sonicwall Firewall which then links to our client PCs spread accross Cisco and HP Switches on 100Mb with Gig uplinks.

THe other link will need to accomodate a VC unit which will have a public IP for external Video conferencing.

I've seen kit from Packeteer, DBAMsystems who all offer WAN splitting, but I noticed at another site an ISP has their main feed coming in on a 2650 and two cat5 connections then fed two separate company networks so I assumed the ISP must throttle the links to these two separate clients.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on how to provide this simply.

internet connection

4 Replies 4

Peter010101
Level 1
Level 1

You can use QOS.

Something similar to this:

class-map match-any VIDEO

match protocol h323

class-map match-any WebEmail

match protocol http

policy-map Policy

class VIDEO

priority percent 60

class WebEmail

bandwidth remaining percent 40

class class-default

fair-queue

interface FastEthernet1

bandwidith 10000

ip nbar protocol-discovery

service-policy output Policy