Views
Helpful
Replies

Suggestions for tunnel configuration

Limitless1801
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, 

We are trying to setup a tunnel between Location A and B (see diagram) to pass some traffic since our MPLS bandwidth is limited. However, I am not an expert at this type of configuration so I need help from the community. I am sure that more questions are going to come up as this evolves but this is it for now:

• What type of configuration (GRE, VRF, etc) do you suggest? And, Where should I terminate this tunnel (Firewall, 6509)? 
  • I was thinking to route this traffic based on destination since I have a clear understanding of where it should go but I am open for suggestions?

For you to know: 

6509 is running EIGRP with static route pointing to MPLS. No redistribution here

Remote locations do not have a routing protocol currently

Two Vlans are configured at the remote location 1.1.1.1 and 2.2.2.2

Thanks in advanced. 

Ralph

10 Replies 10

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Ralph

Do you mean create the tunnel over the internet ?

Jon

Yes. 

If it just one tunnel then IPSEC L2L would be my choice and from the firewall not the 6500 as it won't support it without a VPN module.

I am assuming both the firewall and router at the remote site can support an IPSEC tunnel.

If you want to pass routing updates across then you may also need GRE but you could keep it simple and use static routes although then you may need to use IP SLA for tracking.

You say you have specific destinations you want to route traffic to from the 6500 so it should be easy enough from that end but you also need to ensure the remote site sends the traffic back via the VPN tunnel.

Which means either the source and destination IPs need to be specific or you would need to use PBR at the remote end ie.