cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

T1 Pt2PT Connection keeps dropping

matt.kurtzhals
Level 1
Level 1

We have a pt2pt connection configured and seems to keep dropping. The service provider changed out a bunch of equipment and seems to have help. I am new to the company and took a look at the configs and the t1 interfaces are both set to "line" on each end. Shouldnt one end be "internal"? It seems to have issues every 3 weeks or so. I was just wondering what has to happen for the timinig to be off and all of a sudden it keeps dropping if they are both set to line. Will this configuration work if both set to line and if something happens it drops becuase clocking is off.

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

It could have been the repeater causing those drops on the line, hopefully your issue has been solved after the replacement made by the ISP.

Regarding the configuration register, 0x2102 is the correct one. If you need a link for future reference here is one with all the config register modes:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/routers/ps133/products_tech_note09186a008022493f.shtml

I hope this is useful,

Allan

PS, plz rate if helpful.

View solution in original post

Matt,

I am going to respectfully disagree with you. I used to support over a 100 T1 pt2pt connections and clocking was always provided on those lines. In addition I have done some work supporting a couple of small businesses with one or two remote sites, connected via T1, and clocking was always provided there as well. Maybe I am niave but it has always been my understanding that the clock was provided by telco on a T carrier. In fact in your situation I would think you would be seeing significant numbers of slip secs if you had two ends set for getting the clock from the line and in fact there were no clock.

Joe

View solution in original post

18 Replies 18

jcorrale
Level 1
Level 1