cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Total newb question

k.aumell
Level 1
Level 1

A little confusion, and I must be missing something, but here goes.

I have a customer who's main campus is connected to a remote building by T1. At each end I have a 2611 to land the T on, and connect to my network. It currently works fine with a 3COM 1100 (blech) on the remote end.

I have configured and installed a Cat3550, and when I hook it up to replace the 3COM, it comes up for a minute or 2, then the whole link goes down. I tried config with a different address and daisy-chained it off the 3COM, and it too crashed the link. What can I possibly be missing, any thoughts on what I shoudl look at.

TIA for any help

Kyle

12 Replies 12

c.crocker
Level 1
Level 1

Kyle,

You may have looked at this already, but have you verified speed / duplex settings on the interface? I would recommend hard setting both sides and not using auto.

Indeed I did. What I find peculiar is that thing seem to work for 3 or 4 minutes and then go down. I've tried a crossover cable (didn;t work, btw), rebooting devices, the whole nine yards. It seems to me that for one reason or another, any 3550 I put in, drops the 2611 in minutes. Very odd.

Hi,

Would you be able to post the output of 'show interfaces' from both the switch and the 2611 (at the time when the link is down. Also the output of 'show controllers' may be useful.

Regards,

Paresh

I will post those "shows", but will try the things ScottMac posted as well. Thanks for the advice.

scottmac
Level 10
Level 10

Check the remote end for redundant links.

The 3COM switches (frequently) have the setting to have "one live, one standby" line.

If you replaced that system with a switch (that didn't have spanning tree enabled), then you've got a loop ... a loop will have the symptoms you describe ... the traffic builds (storms) until the interface ODs and shuts down.