cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Unexpectedly slow speed through VPN tunnel

swiftblade
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all, just to start with the fact that despite 20+ years IT Experience, I am a complete novice when it comes to Cisco products. Our current setup was installed by a 3rd party, but unfortunaltey they do not exist any more.

We have a setup whereby 2 sites are connected over the internet via reasonably high speed broadband (80meg up, 20meg down at both sites) using 2 x PIX 506e firewalls. Connection to the internet is as expected and nice speeds acheieved, but traffic between the 2 sites seems extremely slow. File transfers, site B accessing a SQL server at site A, even simple explorer navigation can be painfully slow (and I'm talking click a folder... wait sometimes 20 seconds+...).

My lack of experience/understanding of how Cisco works is hampering my ability to investigate what could possibly be wrong here, so I was hoping that maybe some of you would have some advice as to what to do/check - and possibly how to do it - in order to resolve this.

Could anyone advise on what to do to resolve/investigate?

9 Replies 9

pompeychimes
Level 4
Level 4

Does any traffic over the VPN perform as expected. For example how does a simple ping perform using IP addresses (Not names) over the VPN.

James

a standard ip ping seems ok, average response is 25ms.

RDC seems more or less ok, occasionally its a little slow to respond, but this is visual and really an accurate account.

Up your pings to 1500 bytes. If it fails, reduce the byte size (1480, 1460, 1420, etc...) till you get a consistent reply with no drops. When consistent what is the response time?

sending without fragmentation I get 1400 bytes @ average 24ms.

with fragmentation I get 17750 @ average 46ms.

Any higher and the ping fails.

Don't suppose you have any update for me do you?

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Disclaimer