cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Vlan and Vlan.dat

Heber Trejo
Level 1
Level 1

Im new to cisco, I have a question if yall can please  answer it. yesterday while configuring my 881w router I came up with: ip  address can not be configures on l2 links. so I did a research and  found out that I had to do a Vlan in order to access CPExpress, so i did  that and was able to get in the the GUI interface. Now my this is my  problem, while reasearching a method to configuring the router I came up  with a website that said something like: while creating a vlan make  sure to change the default paswword "of something I can't remember"  because hackers could try entering all passwords and get it to you  vlan's. Also I was reserching about he vlan.dat file on the flash  memory, but i dont remember where i got that hacker thing from. is this  true? and how can you change default password form valn's? thank you.

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

John Blakley
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Heber,

This isn't true. There are two things that you would need to be concerned about in an enterprise environment for security purposes: your account including password, and the native vlan should be changed from the default of vlan 1.

You would always want to change the default password on devices. Default passwords for equipment are readily available on the internet, and if someone were able to get access to your equipment and figure out what you're running, then they would be able to easily get into your equipment with a password found on the internet. That's why you want to change the default.

Maybe you read about changing the native vlan?

HTH,
John

*** Please rate all useful posts ***

HTH, John *** Please rate all useful posts ***

View solution in original post

That's correct. If you want your cameras on vlan 10, you'd make them an access port on vlan 10. If you want your computers on vlan 5, you'd make them access ports on vlan 5, etc.

HTH,
John

View solution in original post