Cisco Support Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. If you'd prefer to explore, try our test area to get started. And see here for current known issues.

New Member

What is the difference between Loal7, or local4 and the event associated


I need to know when configuring syslog in Cisco IOS or any networkig gears, what would be th erealation between local7, local6 or localx with the function associated with it,by function/event i mean debug, error, warning, etc.

wouldn't local7 means, debug and everthing under it all the way to 0 which is emergency?

Pleas eadvise.




Re: What is the difference between Loal7, or local4 and the even

The logging facilities and logging level are two different parameters

The syslog level notifies the degree of the information (range from emergency to debugging) whereas the logging facilities are a way by which a syslog daemon decides to send the information it receives

For eg.. in your network you can configure all your routers to be a part of logging facility 5 and switches to be part of facility 4. This helps in sorting the information in the syslog daemon



New Member

Re: What is the difference between Loal7, or local4 and the even

Thanks. but what is the relation between the debug, warning, etc. and the number after the loca?

what id we don't put or define th efacility at all but still want to log syslog, say waning?



Re: What is the difference between Loal7, or local4 and the even

All syslog messages have some level associated with them. For eg.. duplex messages are seen as level4 i.e warnings while debugging logs are seen as level7

R1(config)#logging trap ?

<0-7> Logging severity level

alerts Immediate action needed (severity=1)

critical Critical conditions (severity=2)

debugging Debugging messages (severity=7)

emergencies System is unusable (severity=0)

errors Error conditions (severity=3)

informational Informational messages (severity=6)

notifications Normal but significant conditions (severity=5)

warnings Warning conditions (severity=4)

While configuring logging we define the level of the logs that need to be sent. eg. if you configure logging trap 4, you will see all logs from 4 to 0

if logging trap 7 is configured you get all logs right from level 7(debugging) to level0(emergencies)

If you do not have any facility configured by default all of them would be logged as facility 7