cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Wic-4esw in 1711 access router

eddyslade
Level 1
Level 1

Hi guys, I'm pretty new to Cisco and am in the process of learning as I go in home environment with some cheap old kit.

I have a 1711 access router setup on an ADSL line etc and this works fine, I also have a 1751 with an ADSL card and this works as an access router as well. (current)

I have pulled the 1711 out of the network in order to utilise the riveted wic-4esw as a top level switch in my network thinking that the "power" of the Cisco over home hubs would give me better speeds and less latency (and more reliability) I chose to put a clean config on there and just configure the vlan and 4 FE ports as a switch to better understand this side without the ADSL interferance (I needed the internet to stay up while playing). So it literally

So the "architecture" is... 1751 with ADSL into the network. 1711 off this with 4 ports. 1. to 1751  2. gigabit switch (netgear home jobby)  3. netgear WNR2000 as a wireless access point and switch. 4. goes off to the homeplug network.

the gigabit switch runs 2 NAS units and a couple of machines

The WNR2000 has some more machines and the wireless clients

the homeplug has multiple network cameras

All 4 ports are configured

No IP

Speed 100

Duplex full

Switchmode access

and all default to VLAN 1

As soon as I put the 1711 into the network throughput across it (and just to it's port) dropped down to ~1.5Mbps on devices from wirless to the NAS etc. Now I have read a couple of threads that suggest that although the 4esw is FE the 1711 is only 10Mbps internally or something along those lines. So why rivet a 4esw in there?

Is the 1751 limited by this as well? (is it worth drilling the rivets out and plugging it into the 1751?)

Thanks

Eddy

6 Replies 6

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

WIC-4ESW is supported on the ISR G1 router.   It's not supported on any 1700 chassis because the pins don't match.