Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. If you'd prefer to explore, try our test area to get started. And see here for current known issues.

Wireless Solution

I am trying to get my head around what products I need to set up a secure wireless network.

1. I need something that can make a PPPoE connection with username and password to my ISP for Internet.

2. I'd like to create private vlans to separate areas of the network by port.

3. I'd like to be protected from brute force WPA key attacks and have dhcp snooping

4. I'd like to be able to define the range of the wireless network.

That about sums it up but as I'm new to this kind of configuration it doesn't come easily to me.

General info:

All in all there'll be 30 devices max (mostly wireless) out of which there will be 6 wired clients

I do have a cisco sg200-08 and would be glad if it met the above requirements so that i could integrate it into the network.

Mainly I'm asking if i'm looking at a

router->devices config or a

router->switch->devices config or a

switch->router->devices config.

And if so which cisco router/switch would you recommend?

• WAN Routing and Switching
2 REPLIES

Wireless Solution

How many AP's do you think you'll need? I don't understand #4, can you eloborate a little? You mention private VLAN's. Do you mean you want multiple VLAN's or do you want PVLAN's?

Re: Wireless Solution

Hey there, well this only opens up further questions. Will wireless be centralized at one location, any plans for growth of your WLAN?

Depending on what you want to accomplish you will need something similar to the folllowing

Option 1 - Centrally Managed WLAN

1. Wireless LAN Controller

2. LWAPP (I would recommend 2 AP's at least for 30 users)

3. L3 Switch (L3, you did mention segementation of the network)