cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

s360 and ldap

itjack_ironport
Level 1
Level 1

I am just beginning to setup our ironports for our organization. I am trying to gather high level understanding of how the ironports interact with our ldap servers.

If I want to setup 1000 different users on an ironport S360 using ldap. I want to setup about 10 - 15 different security profiles with regards to web filtering. I want each manager to be able to choose the correct profile or profiles for each user in his/her department. I want to use basic ldap authentication to identify each user.

I have read most of the docs for AsyncOS 5.6 the Web Security Appliances. However, it is still unclear to me the correlation between Realms, Group Authorization and Access Policies.

How would I go about doing that?
I would like to leverage our ldap servers as much as possible since we are already using that for our company.

Also what purpose do the Security Management Appliances server. We currently are not deploying any C-series ironports only S-series.

Thanks in advance

-itjack

5 Replies 5

jowolfer
Level 1
Level 1

IT Jack,

Your setup will look something like this:

------------------------------------------
LDAP Authentication Realm

This will identify the appropriate settings to authenticate against your LDAP server. You will configure the appropriate schema attributes for your users and groups.

Creating the auth realm only identifies that authentication may be done using LDAP with the configured settings, it does not enable authentication for your users.

Identity Policy

In order to use authentication, you'll need to create an Identity Policy. The Identity policy will specify to authenticate using the LDAP realm you previously created.

Typically, all of your clients should hit a single Identity that references your LDAP realm. All other Identities will be exceptions, such as "do not authenticate for subnet X" identity policies.