cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Waas WCCP or Inline

fast5658659
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all, I am new to WAAS and currently going through the WAAS configutation guide. I have learned that there are three methods to deploy WAAS. Our client has got two sites and they want to accelerate the file sharing across WAN link. The number of users at each site is not more then 50. We have purchased three Cisco WAVE 274 for our client.

At the moment they have got the fileserver/exchnage/sbsserver/print server at there main site. All the users in branch site connect via VPN to main site and use resources via WAN link. My current thinking is to use two wave 274s on each site as inline deployment. Can someone pls answer these questions ?

1) Which is the best technique to use here (inline or WCCP)

2) I have two port inline network adaptors in each WAVE 274 (Will it provide the fail to wire capability in event of hardware failure)

3) The two edge router are Cisco 857W and Cisco 877 and LAN switches are unmanaged netgear switches(Will they support WCCP)

4) How can I utilize the third Wave 274 (as a centeral manager at main site?)

5) I learned that Windows server can be installed on Wave 274 to deployment print and other services ( How it will help in optimization)

Many thanks

Waqas

5 Replies 5

Bhavin Yadav
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Waqas,

Answers for you:

1) Which is the best technique to use here (inline or WCCP)

Both, depending upon your router / switch you are using. inline can work with any switch / router. WCCP works with specific router with specifc IOS only. But inline failure affects all the traffic and WCCP only affects the traffic redirecting thru WCCP. More WCCP details can be found here: http://www.cisco.com/en/US/partner/prod/collateral/contnetw/ps5680/ps6870/white_paper_c11-608042.html

2)  I have two port inline network adaptors in each WAVE 274 (Will it  provide the fail to wire capability in event of hardware failure).