Views
Helpful
Replies

802.11n + wireless IP phone

wim_depauw
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

We are considering to implement 1250 AP with 802.11N standard and use wireless IP phones.

I'm not a voice expert but I can't find a cisco phone which supports the 802.11n ( draft ) standard.

Is there a phone which supports this and if not when will there be one ?

The ap1250 are supporting a/b/g/n band so it could be that the wireless phone is supported on 802.11a .

If I have a laptop which uses 802.11N and I have a phone with 802.11a on the same AP will the speed of the laptop drop also to 54 Mbps/s ?

or

Can I configure the AP to use 802.11a and 802.11n at the same time ?

gr

wim

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hey Wim,

The phone would work just fine in the 802.11g band.

The only differences I would see:

- the cells are slightly larger (in 802.11g) at same speed

- there are only 3 non overlapping channels, so design has to be done carefully, especially in a multi-story environment

- beware of the other 802.11g (and mainly 802.11b) devices probing around. They can seriously degrade the performances of your network

- there is a larger part of 2.4Ghz band that is ISM, which means that many other devices might use this band as well (analog wireless cameras, DECT phones, microwave ovens and so on).

So be careful in your site survey, but there is no problem with the phone itself.

Hope it helps

Jerome

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

Rob Huffman
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi Wim,

Excellent questions!

1. Correct, no Wireless 802.11n phones yet

2. The Cisco 7921 will work with the 1252.

3. The 7921 is supported on the 802.11a band

4. No

5. Yes

Q. Will the Cisco Aironet 1250 Series support the Cisco Unified Wireless IP Phone 7921?