Views
Helpful
Replies

Subscriber connection problems asr 9006 5.3.0

Sharlock93
Level 1
Level 1

Hello everyone,

before I state my problem let me just say that im not a network engineer, I don't know detail of things but I have a general idea and understand some of things related to BNG and ASR.

so here is our general setup and the problem:

We use IPoE for our customers and have a radius server that does the AAA, each user has a different QoS policy based on the radius reply and all that usual stuff. 

lately and for sometime now, we have noticed that some of our subscribers have every proper setting like their Policy map is correct and the ASR sends proper accounting packets back to the radius server, yet the subscriber doesn't have any internet connection.

so far I have talked with Mr Xander in private messages and he suggested i make a forum post because I can't open up a TAC as we don't have a proper active subscription. His first suggestion was it could be:

A) a software bug and suggested an update to 5.3.4 (currently this isn't feasible for certain reasons).

B) it could be a forwarding problem and drops happening somewhere. he suggested I run

show controllers np counters all

the output of the command is in my reply on the first post, its an attached file which means it won't pollute the posts.

you will have to excuse my knowledge here as I'm just trying to be of help, while the others are also looking for solutions.

as far as I know DROPs are bad and some of these counters have large values. but I don't know what they mean exactly. any help would be appreciated.

4 Replies 4

Aleksandar Vidakovic
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

The "show controllers np counters" was apparently hampered with because some counters are repeating and the rate of individual punt counters doesn't match the aggregate MDF_PUNT_POLICE_DROP counter. Please share the entire output of "show controllers np counters". You can upload it as attachment.