Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco/Linksys SLM224G SWITCH: Problem with VLANs

Meson-Man
Level 1
Level 1

Hi!

I'm trying to set up VLANs in my racks. I have some knowledge about VLANs, but I still can't set it up in my way.

My situation:

I have PC which contains two virtual machines, which has to works as a routers between three networks: LAN1, LAN2, WAN. It's a bit complicated, but I'll try to draw it:

|-------------|

|----------------------------|                   |           e1|-to-eth1-VM2-----WAN
|VirtualMachine 1        eth0|---trunk-VLAN1&2---|g1         e2|-to-eth0-VM2-----LAN2
|eth0=VLAN1 eth1=VLAN2       |                   |           e3|-to-eth0-VM2-----LAN2 etc.
|                         PC |                   |   SWITCH  e4|
|VirtualMachine 2            |                   |           e5|-to-eth1-VM1---wire-to-LAN2
|eth0=VLAN3 eth1=VLAN4   eth1|---trunk-VLAN3&4---|g2         e6|-to-eth0-VM1-----LAN1
|----------------------------|                   |           e7|-to-eth0-VM1-----LAN1 etc.
                                                 |-------------|

gX = Gigabit ports
eX = 100Mbit ports
VMX = Virtual machine number
wire-to = patch-cord connection between ports on the switch

Schema of routing and logical visibility:

LAN1---VM1-----VM2---WAN
              |
LAN2----------|

Important note is that LAN1 and LAN2 has to be separated (visible only through routers). WAN has to be visible only through VM2 for LAN2 and through by VM1 and VM2 for LAN1. It looks easy, but VLANs which I done on that switch seems to doesn't works.

I'm doing this like that:

Step1: VLAN Management / Create VLAN...

Creating VLANs from 1, 2, 3, 4 (numbers doesn't meters right now - I now that number 1 is restricted at the switch).

Step2: VLAN Management / Port to VLAN...

Setting up VLAN1 with ports g1, e5 (both tagged or untagged? - I haven't seen difference)

Setting up VLAN2 with ports g1, e6, e7, etc...

Setting up VLAN3 with ports g2, e2, e3, etc...